RSS

Thanksgiving

27 Nov

Happy Thanksgiving! I hope each and everyone’s Thanksgiving was as blessed with amazing food, and even better friends and family as mine was!

I came back to mom and dads last Friday night (11/18) and kicked off the week of Thanksgiving, by heading up to the annual Trinity Fish Fry, at the local catholic church.  I met pops, a few good friends, and some cold drinks, where we played Blackjack, Poker, and had some good grub.  We then proceeded to end the evening with drinks at the PitStop.  It was a good way to start a week of vacation.

Saturday night was the annual Winter Fest in Portland, IN.  It kicks off by open houses of all the local businesses (ours included), lots of Christmas Decorations and music, and it ended with a Christmas Parade of Lights.  However, only in Portland Indiana can a classy, quaint parade goes from this:
image

And This

image

And ends with this!

IMG_4279IMG_4833

Yes, it’s a bit blurry, but it really is a John Deere with Christmas Lights.  Be Jelous.  That’s just how we roll in Jay County.

Thanksgiving and the holidays in my family means two things.  Amazing amounts of food, and TWO separate Thanksgiving gatherings.  Two days of Thanksgiving?  Yes Please.

We got together for my moms side on the Sunday before Thanksgiving for Lunch.  If you missed the lunch/dinner/supper conversation I recommend reading it.  Anyway, we had a Thankgiving Lunch, which lead into supper.  With mounds of mindless eating all day.  It was great to see everyone, but the food was…..so killer

IMG_3516

IMG_6347
Grandmas Popcorn and M&M mix, pumpkin fluff dip, Pumpkin Pies, and those famous Sugar Cookies

If you missed it, I had the honor of being on TV at the beginning of last week to make my Grandmothers, and moms famous Sugar cookies, to help them kick off their Holiday Memories cooking segments.  I have been on the show before, but this time was much more laid back and loved every minute of it.  The hosts Tracy and Andi are some of the warmest and nicest people I have met while living in Indy, and the lady I did the segment with is a hoot, and has one of the best personalities I have been around.  You can view my clip here, if you missed it.  (Thanks mother for your baking skills)

Back to the feast…….

IMG_8071

IMG_1341

Green Bean Casserole, Homemade Noodles, a Butter nut squash dish I made, and dressing

IMG_3049

Turkey, Mashed Potatoes, and gravy.

Needless to say I don’t think anyone walk away hungry.

Turkey Day

Thanksgiving morning, pops and I got up and went hunting, and were big losers.  However, no disappointment on our part, because we had my dads family over for Thanksgiving at our house as well in the afternoon.  He is one of 10 kids in his family and its quite the production to get us all in the same place, but when we do its usually dominated by some of the finest down home cooking and mazing desserts, however on this day my food coma was highlighted by homemade Vanilla, Strawberry, and Maple Syrup Pecan icecream! I was in heaven, and had three bowls of each.  I ate the icecream so fast I did not even bother with pictures.

While missed being apart from the finance, I still had a really nice time back home, and can not thank my parents enough for letting me mooch off of them for a week.

The Meaning of Thanksgiving

I think Thanksgiving is my second favorite holiday hands down, behind Halloween.  There are no bunnies, fireworks, candy, or fat jolly men riding sleighs.  No.  Its about taking time to just enjoy what you are most thankful, and reflecting on all that we are blessed with.  Thus, I am thankful for:

Them

imageMom, Pops, and Maria

Her

image

Him

imageLilMiller

Baseball

image

And Country Views like this

image

Oh…and gluttonous amounts of icecream

image(Kitchen sink challenge at the San Fran Creamery, I long to attempt)

Hope you all had the best Thanksgiving yet and cheers to a great start to the holidays!

Questions of the day

What one thing are you most thankful for?
What was the best thing you had for thanksgiving this year?

I am most thankful for amazing family and friends, who have stuck beside me though some rough times over the last few months.

And hands down, my favorite food of the week was the Maple Pecan Icecream our friend B made, it was serious the best homemade icecream I’ve had this side of my White Chocolate homemade Icecream. 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Thanksgiving

  1. Joan Grott (@joangrott)

    November 28, 2011 at 2:35 am

    Great post! I appreciate your appreciation of food, and watched your sugar cookie TV clip. I make some similar cookies…love them, and the almond extract in the frosting is key. 🙂 Here’s a sampling of some of my regular baked goods this time of year… http://joannieg.blogspot.com/2009/12/my-christmas-baking.html

     
  2. cheeseandicecream

    November 28, 2011 at 3:32 am

    Aw. Well thank you Joan! I do love me some food, and with my journey, I have really come to love and appreciate GOOD food. And thank you so so much on the comments about the TV spot. I love it and love all the people on the show. They are so warm and treat you like family every time I go on the show. And just really wanted to share with anyone who watched how much that Sugar Cookie recipe means to me and my family. And yes, I agree the cookies with a touch of almond really does add such a new depth of flavor and brings them to a whole other level!

    But WOWZA…Thats a heck of a plate of homemade cookies. I thought I loved to be in the kitchen, but you put us ALL to shame…very solid work! I may just have to hit you up for a few of those recipes. Very nice work Ms. Pastry Chef/ Ms. Santa Clause!

     

Leave a Reply

 
