RSS

Christmas Week

20 Dec

Hello! Hope everyone’s holidays are gearing up! My Christmas week got a very solid start.  I went back to my mom and dad’s house this weekend for my Dad’s side Christmas party with his family on Sunday.  It was so laid back, little kids opening presents, TONS of amazing food.  It really got us all in the mood for what I hope will be an amazing week leading up to Christmas.  However, the way my family celebrates Christmas is to cook, bake and eat.  So to keep with tradition that just what I did all weekend at home.

Two glorious desserts were on the menu for the Christmas party.  They both included two of my all time loves.  Chocolate Christmas candy, and Sugary kid Cereal. 

003 (5)

The first dessert I tackled is a play of an all time classic Candy, which I only get to enjoy during the holidays.  I’m not sure if it’s a midwest thing or not but one of my families favorite Christmas desserts is the Buckeye.  Peanut Butter covered in chocolate?  You can not really go wrong with that combo. 

image

However with my passion for the kitchen I wanted to put my own spin on this dessert and made these “Buckeye Bars” from Gooseberry Patch

004 (5)

012 (2)

 Buckeye Brownies, from Almost Homemade cookbook, submit by Heather Prentice

19-1/2 oz. pkg. brownie mix
2 c. powdered sugar
1/2 c. plus 6 T. butter, softened and divided
8-oz. jar creamy peanut butter
6-oz. pkg. semi-sweet chocolate chips
Prepare and bake brownie mix in a greased 13″x9″ baking pan according to package directions. Let cool. Mix powdered sugar, 1/2 cup butter and peanut butter. Mix well and spread over cooled brownies. Chill for one hour. Melt together chocolate chips and remaining butter in a saucepan over low heat, stirring occasionally. Spread over brownies. Let cool; cut into squares. Makes 2 to 3 dozen, depending on how big your sweet tooth is Winking smile 

They were VERY good and tasted like a buckeye for sure.  However, next time I may add a thinner layer of chocolate to the top.  With a fat layer of brownie on top, and thick layer of chocolate gnash on top made it awful rich. 

 

The second recipe I knocked out was a hit as well.  Let me preface by saying.  As a child I long for each morning to wake up and indulge in one three bowls of huge sugary cereal. 

This was my sister and I back in the day

image

My favorite cereal to mow down in the morning was this stuff.  I think we went through two boxes a week….

image

Thus, what Christmas party is not complete with a snack mix and found this one from Betty Crocker.  However, it calls for Chex Mix and Coco Puffs.  While I love chocolate. Coco puffs do not make me jump up and down, and the Chex cereal, well its just a bit plain.  So.  I knew I had the rest of the ingredients cover but needed two cereals to replace the Coco puffs and Chex.  So when I saw the recipe that combined WHITE chocolate and cereal I knew we had a winner!

I ran to the store to the Cereal aisle to see what I have been missing in the world of sugary cereal lately.  I want to say….WHERE have I been.  I found these two amazing cereals yesterday!

image          image

Wow.  Cinnabon may be may new favorite snack.  While it may be loaded with sugar.  It really does give you a sense that you are eating a cinnamon roll! And the Reese’s Puff are also loaded with sugar but the Peanut Butter puffs are amazing.  How is it that no one turned me one to these!

Thus I pick up both new cereals and set out to finish my mix! Let me say.  The recipe does not call for ALL of the cereals, but between mom, dad, and I eating sampling the cereal, both boxes were gone by the end of this process. 

 

006 (5)

 

007 (3)

Throw all your candy, cereal, pretzels, nuts, ect into a big bowl and melt your WHITE Chocolate 

 

013

Add you melted butter and chocolate to the bowl and stir until coated

014

015

Then throw it all into a bag, add a 1/2 cup of powdered sugar and then lay out flat on a sheet trey to cool, and then just put it all back into the bag to bring to the party! Easy as that.  I will say I went threw and ate the M&M’s and Cinnabons first.  Both desserts were hits and fairly easy! Great way to start off the week of Christmas.

Holiday Party Mix

4 cups Cinnabon® cereal

2 cups Reese Puff® cereal

2 cups thin pretzel sticks (2 1/4 inch)

1 cup candy-coated candies (Plain M&M’s)

1 cup dry-roasted peanuts

10 oz white chocolate baking bars or squares, chopped

2 tablespoons butter or margarine

1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 In large bowl, mix cereals, pretzels, plain candies and peanuts; set aside.
  • 2 In 1-quart microwavable bowl, microwave white chocolate and butter uncovered on High about 1 minute, stirring once, until melted and chocolate can be stirred smooth. Pour over cereal mixture, stirring until evenly coated.
  • In large resealable food-storage plastic bag, toss half of the cereal mixture with 1/4 cup of the powdered sugar until evenly coated. Spread on waxed paper to cool. Repeat with remaining cereal mixture and remaining 1/4 cup powdered sugar.
  • Lay flat on sheet pan to dry and cool
  • Store tightly covered at room temperature.

Hope everyone Holidays are going very well! I know my family and I have been blessed this year already and its only due to get better!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
