RSS

Christmas Part I

06 Jan

Hello! I hope everyone had the best Holiday yet.  For our family it was a bit bitter sweet.  This was the first year my sister was not with us for all the festivities.  Currently she is traveling Europe and is Spain, which you can read about her crazy life going continent to continent here.  However, I was lucky enough to get back home to my parents home the Friday before Christmas and had the whole week after Christmas off from work.

As many know, we have a family Christmas tradition of going to an early Christmas Mass on Christmas eve, coming home, having a feast, sitting down after a food coma,  opening a few small gifts, and then opening presents Christmas morning.
IMG_0133

001 (6)

Again, it felt a little different than years past so this year we changed it up and after eating and opening some stocking stuffers, which I made my pops snicker doodles and peanut brittle, we headed to a Christmas party with a few friends and family where we got to have a Skype Christmas Eve date with my Sister.  It was nice, but lets just say she had done her fair share of celebrating at the local pubs for the evening.

Christmas morning started with a 6 mile run and these which is usually a staple every Christmas morning

010 (2)

Then we commenced to have another Skype call with Maria while we all opened presents from the Fat Jolly Man.

IMG_0148

As you can see we were pretty blessed this year.  And most of my gifts were already unwrapped by Chrismtas morning.  My parents got me a remote Car Starter and also a ipod hookup for my car as well.  I can not thank them enough!

IMG_0156

I baked Dad his favorite apple time and also this Hoodie to help become one of the “hip kids”.  Many of you know that My parents own their own Bicycle Shop, and he collects old vintage bikes.  Thus I say this Schwinn Stingray hoodie and figured it would be the perfect first hoodie.

011 (4)

010 (4)

I also got my my some much needed Paula Deen Kitchen Knives, lotion, some Easley Mulled Wine.  Easley is located right down town Indy and make some of the best wine I have tasted.  I hate wine but I can even handle a glass of their Reggae Red and White wine.   Along with the wine I got both my parents each a Trevis Tumbler Glass.

imageMoms

imagePops

image

And then got them each one of these for the glasses, sine they both use them as coffee mugs as well.  I will say Trevis Tumblers are perhaps some of the nicest glasses I have used.  They keep your beverage Super cold and also hot liquid hot.  They do not sweat or leave water rings on your table, and are dish water safe! Our cabinet is now full of them.  You can have them customized with writing if you would like and they will soon let customers customize the picture that is on you cup.  They come in various sizes 8,10,12, 16, and 24 oz. and have aton of accessories to go with them including the handles and lids! Perfect gifts for any occasions.

006 (7)

Along with the Mugs Brittni and I got my parents an IU calendar.  Thanks to Britt looking all over Indianapolis for it.  They were sold out everywhere.  After their wins over number the 1 AND 2 ranked teams in the county I guess they were the hot ticket item this year.  On a side note, all the calendar stores had tons of Purdue Calendars Winking smile  Go Hoosiers.

IMG_0157

The last gift I gave my mom, I feel meant the most.  Many years we can’t remember what we even gave each other, which I guess has to deal with our obsession with materialistic things on Christmas, but this year I wanted to get something that they would remember.  So I had this frame made with my great grandmothers picture, surrounded by one of HER rosaries which my grandmother gave mom mother, aunts, and uncles.  Mom and the rest of the family loved it and I feel it’s a great way to honor such a great woman. Since I made my great grandmothers sugar cookies on a local TV show seen here, I figured I should not frame one of her famous sugar cookies so this was the next best thing!

Needless to say it was a great Christmas and loved all the family time and amazing food, as well as the time off work.  Even though we did not have snow ON Christmas, the day after Christmas we did get to wake up to this

IMG_0170

Hope you all were lucky enough to have as good as Christmas I we did!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
