RSS

Oreo Cake

20 Feb

Many know I love being in the kitchen and the kitchen is the most relaxing place for me to spend my free time.  I have made many a meals and spend countless hours cooking, but when it comes to baking, I usually don’t have the patients to do much of it.  When they say it really is a science, they mean it!

image

However, when it comes to special occasions and special people.  I’lI drink an extra stiff drink   and ake a little extra time to do a little baking.  Thus I searched all over for the perfect dessert for my family

I knew I wanted something with a little chocolate, and also kept in mind the family loves cookies.  Thus I found this Oreo Cake recipe from Brown Eyed Baker. However, I omitted the Chocolate gnash because I figured the cake itself would be super rich already with out it.

I was a bit nervous going into it, I have NEVER made a cake from scratch, all Duncan Hines and Betty Crocker for me,  but figured I would try and if it didn’t work out I would turn it into a tri-fold dessert,

So I went to town and gathered everything I needed

IMG_0146

Bless my mother for letting me try this experiment in her kitchen.

So I mixed, added, beat, whisked, cussed, and prayed like heck the cakes would turn out.  I separated the batter between two 9” cake pans put them in the oven and cleaned up my mess.

IMG_0151

And to my surprise the cakes rose and turned out perfect!

*I baked and left them cool over night in the pans.  Note to all those who bake as much as I do….Take the cakes OUT of the pans after ten minutes off cooling to allow for the cake to slide right out.  I did not.  Thus when I went to take them out they were stuck and it took A LOT of patients, mommas magic cooking touch, and a lot of praying for them to finally get them to come out in one piece.

IMG_0152

I next set out to make the “Crème” filling

I mixed the block of crème cheese, sugar and chopped cookies and got the cakes ready

IMG_0153

Perfect amount and perfect frosting technique.  No tearing or cake in the frosting.

IMG_0154

I then I added a few more chopped cookies to the top and set it outside in the freezing garage to set over night

IMG_0155

It turned out PERFECT.  Wow.

The cake was soo moist and not overly chocolaty. (Mom and I ate all the crumbs that stuck to the bottom of the pan and what fell off the side of the cake.)  As the recipe below notes, the batter is super thin, and I was a bit worried it was going to turn out as two big pans of chocolate pudding.

And the crème filling was a little tangy from the crème cheese, but sweet from the sugar and the cookies.  So solid and on point.  I wish I would have seen the oreo cookies with different filling for Christmas, Halloween, ect, but was in a hurry and just grabbed the regular.

This cake could be used with ALL the holiday themed Oreo Cookies to make it even more festive.

Everyone loved it.  But since it was a two tired cake, it was pretty rich so there was like half left over.  However, lucky I am family with fellow sweet tooth’s and the rest found a home at my aunt and uncles house Winking smile

I’m not sure if I every want to eat a box cake again and in all honesty it was not a daunting task as I thought it would be.

Cookies & Cream Oreo Look-Alike Cake

Yield: 12 servings

For the Cake (Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Cake)
2 cups sugar
1¾ cups all-purpose flour
¾ cup cocoa powder
1½ teaspoons baking powder
1½ teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup whole milk
½ cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup boiling water

For the Filling:
8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
½ cup sugar
1 cup (8 ounces) heavy whipping cream
12 Oreo cookies, coarsely chopped

1. To make the cake, preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans.

2. Stir together the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed for 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin). Divide the batter evenly between the two pans.

3. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely.

4. To make the filling, with a stand or hand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment, whisk the heavy whipping cream on low until it starts to become frothy and thick. Gradually increase the speed and whisk until stiff peaks form. Set aside.

5. In a large bowl beat together the cream cheese and sugar until well-blended and smooth. Using a rubber spatula, gently fold in ¼ of the whipped cream to lighten the cream cheese mixture. Fold in the remaining whipped cream, and then the chopped Oreos.

6. Place one layer of the cake on a serving plate, spread the filling mixture on top, and top with the second cake layer.

7.  Let chill for atleast an hour for the filling to set!

Again the cake was so good and I will for sure make this again.  So if you are not a baker and are scared or don’t have the patients to bake, I highly recommend to atleast give it a shot, you may just surprise yourself.  And what the worst that can happen if you try to make this cake?  You end up with some amazing Chocolate Pudding and a heck of a Oreo crème filling to eat Winking smile

Question of the day?

What’s one food you are nervous to attempt to make for your family

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Oreo Cake

  1. Heather a Basilmomma

    April 1, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    What a beauty! You did a great job! You are right… The ganache may have been too much. But then again I do love ganache 😉
    Thank you for coming by my site!!

     
    • cheeseandicecream

      April 1, 2012 at 8:50 pm

      Thank you! It was a hit and I made it again about two weeks ago and was gone before I could turn back around,,,but myself, I prefer just the ganache! ha…but no problem on stopping by and I know I recently found your work but it appears you do some top shelf writing and also blogging. Nice work and cant wait to read more of your tales!

       
  2. smartine

    July 20, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    That sounds great! And to answer your question, duck breast sandwhiches on homemade bread. (I may do that later.)

     
    • cheeseandicecream

      July 20, 2012 at 5:43 pm

      Very solid, that sounds Sounds stellar. Homemade bread takes any sandwich to another level. The best homemade bread Ive ever eaten comes from Circle City Sweets and Chef Cindy Hawkins. She makes this top shelf honey roll bread. I have dreams about it

       

Leave a Reply

 
